- This topic has 16 replies, 9 voices, and was last updated 5 years, 12 months ago by yehudayona.
June 4, 2017 12:42 am at 12:42 am #1289030happy2bmeParticipant
Is almond milk non dairy. Are you allowed to have it after meat or is it halachically considered dairyJune 4, 2017 7:51 am at 7:51 am #1289033👑RebYidd23Participant
No, unless some dairy milk has been mixed in.June 4, 2017 7:51 am at 7:51 am #1289034JosephParticipant
Any four letter word is assur.June 4, 2017 8:04 am at 8:04 am #1289044lowerourtuition11210Participant
Check on the container. Although pure almond milk should be pareve, I have checked some of the websites and some brands are considered Dairy.June 4, 2017 10:22 am at 10:22 am #1289151DovidBTParticipant
I briefly experimented with soy “milk” and almond “milk”. In the local stores, all the soy milk hechshers, and all but one of the almond milk hechshers, indicated “dairy”, due to additives. And although almond milk tastes similar to cow milk, the contents label indicated that it had practically no nutritional value, so I gave up on it.June 4, 2017 11:22 am at 11:22 am #1289212
In my experience, shelf-stable almond milk is pareve, refrigerated almond milk is OU-D. I believe the same is true of soy milk and rice milk. Since the OU doesn’t use the DE (dairy equipment) designation, I suspect the OU-D is really the result of using cows’ milk packaging lines for the non-cows’ milk.June 4, 2017 11:22 am at 11:22 am #1289213lowerourtuition11210Participant
DovidBT: While I don’t know about nutritional value, it does help those who I know that are allergic to cow’s milk. I have a gentile co-worker who knows to look for a hechsher that says meat or pareve and feels safe to consume it as he is allergic to milk.June 4, 2017 12:24 pm at 12:24 pm #1289227
Ben and Jerry’s made 4 flavors of dairy free ice cream using almond milk which are really good, but breyer’s one-upped them with two flavors of dairy free almond milk ice cream for half the price that are actually very close to real ice cream flavor. I was a huge ice cream fan and have missed it terribly since I stopped eating cholov company. The Breyer’s is more affordable than any options out there and really yummy.June 4, 2017 5:22 pm at 5:22 pm #1289297
Syag, I believe B&J dairy free ice cream is DE. What about Breyer’s?June 4, 2017 5:56 pm at 5:56 pm #1289303JosephParticipant
DE is marked as D. How would you know it is DE?June 4, 2017 5:56 pm at 5:56 pm #1289304commonsenseParticipant
Is the breyers de?June 4, 2017 5:58 pm at 5:58 pm #1289308
Chof – K DEJune 4, 2017 7:12 pm at 7:12 pm #1289314
Joseph, that’s the OU. Others use DE.
Syag, I know B&J is Chof-K DE. Is Breyer’s the same?
Since this seems to have turned into a pareve ice cream thread, I recommend Trader Joe’s vanilla soy ice cream, which is OU pareve and as close to the real thing as any pareve ice cream I’ve had.June 4, 2017 7:14 pm at 7:14 pm #1289317
was referring to Breyer’sJune 7, 2017 12:14 am at 12:14 am #1290998happy2bmeParticipant
So it’s considered dairy correct? Yes the packaging says ou D but I was just wondering cuz supposedly it’s not cow milkJune 7, 2017 1:23 am at 1:23 am #1291038LightbriteParticipant
If you blend marzipan with water, would it taste like almond milk?June 7, 2017 1:24 am at 1:24 am #1291044
Happy2bme, my guess is that you’re looking at the refrigerated stuff, which is probably just made on dairy equipment. You can call the OU and ask, but the status may change from dairy equipment to real dairy without you knowing. if you want pareve almond milk, get the shelf stable stuff. Both Blue Diamond brand and store brands (Stop and Shop, Trader Joe’s) are pareve.
Dairy equipment means you can’t use it with a fleishig meal, but you can use it afterwards.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.