I was looking to make a homemade marinara sauce for the nine days. These tomatoes are supposedly the best brand to do it with. The problem is there is no hechsher on the the can. According the the company website this product is certified by the OU. Anyways do you need a hechsher on canned tomatoes. What should i do?
What’s your method.
According to the OU app for this item, there must be a symbol of the product.
if its made in california then its kosher. other places, it needs a clear hechsher. anyway, big deal. but soft raw tomatoes. it’ll taste the same.
There are hechshered canned San Marzano tomatoes. I get them all the time. Try Benz or Pomegranate if you can’t find them in Whole Foods or Trader Joes or ShopRite.
The peeling process uses steam.
I’ve never seen the Kosher cans in mainstream stores, but there are other brands that are consistently Kosher.
I prefer fresh local tomatoes. I once asked the White House kitchen what tomatoes they use but they never answered me.