April 18, 2016 1:51 pm at 1:51 pm #617584tantaliMember
I have never been to a sefardik seder and thought it would be kind of neat to have sushi at the seder. Can they also use soy sauce?April 19, 2016 8:04 am at 8:04 am #1149676MammeleParticipant
Sushi is not a traditional Sephardi food, so I’d guess it’s not the norm for the Seder.
But what I wanted to say is that soy sauce is chometz, not just kitniyos.April 19, 2016 1:04 pm at 1:04 pm #1149677
They sell Quinoa Sushi, so you can have your Sushi at the SederApril 19, 2016 1:34 pm at 1:34 pm #1149678Geordie613Participant
…as long as it’s not roasted.April 19, 2016 1:47 pm at 1:47 pm #1149679tantaliMember
Quinoa Sushi- gross. Thanks ill stick with my matzah, chicken and potato kugel.April 19, 2016 5:52 pm at 5:52 pm #1149680
food is very personal choice. I do not belive anyone should have to eat something they dont likeApril 19, 2016 8:27 pm at 8:27 pm #1149681nishtdayngesheftParticipant
What type of keeping to mesorah is it to make sushi with Quinoa?
Eli hoyu shom lo hoya nigol
Besides, of they dip into soy sauce it would be three items that are dipped and mah nishtana would be all messed up.April 19, 2016 8:53 pm at 8:53 pm #1149682☕ DaasYochid ☕Participant
I do not belive anyone should have to eat something they dont like
What if someone doesn’t like matzah or marror?April 19, 2016 9:00 pm at 9:00 pm #1149683
What if someone doesn’t like matzah or marror?
Its a Mitzvah to eat a Kezays and you dont have to eat Chazon Ish portions either of that however there is no other food that I know of that its a Mitzvah to specifically eat that. Also marror is not one item, there are several choices, You can eat Lettuce , Horseradish or EndiveApril 19, 2016 9:04 pm at 9:04 pm #1149684
People will find this hard to belive, but I dont eat chocolate Cake (Passover or Not Passover)April 19, 2016 10:02 pm at 10:02 pm #1149685☕️coffee addictParticipant
Why is soy sauce chametzApril 19, 2016 10:31 pm at 10:31 pm #1149686
Soy Sauce cotains roasted grainApril 20, 2016 12:09 am at 12:09 am #1149687popa_bar_abbaParticipant
Quinoa has bugs.April 25, 2016 12:46 pm at 12:46 pm #1149689MDGParticipant
Not all soy sauce has grain. I have had gluten free soy sauce, although I would still suspect that the keilim were used with grain.
I believe that I have seen imitation soy sauce KFPApril 25, 2016 1:34 pm at 1:34 pm #1149690mazal77Participant
You may have seen kosher for Pesach Imitation soy sauce, but did you ever taste it??!! Yuck, bought it once, will not buy again. We can live with out it for a week.April 25, 2016 2:45 pm at 2:45 pm #1149691MammeleParticipant
It seems the wheat in soy sauce is actually fermented, among other ingredients. This from one company’s website:
All-purpose Kikkoman Soy Sauce is traditionally brewed from wheat, soybeans, water and salt. Like fine wine, Kikkoman Soy Sauce is aged for several months to develop its characteristic rich, yet mellow flavor, appetizing aroma and distinctive reddish-brown color.April 25, 2016 2:52 pm at 2:52 pm #1149692Sam2Participant
I believe La Choy soy sauce is completely gluten free and tastes completely normal.April 26, 2016 4:37 pm at 4:37 pm #1149693oomisParticipant
La Choy I believe is GF, and though we don’t use soy sauce on Pesach, that GF certified brand HAS to be grain free or Celiacs cannot use it. Kikkoman is not grain free. And as to whether Sefardim eat sushi at the Sedarim – only if they like sushi.April 26, 2016 4:42 pm at 4:42 pm #1149694🍫Syag LchochmaParticipant
there are gluten free grain productsApril 26, 2016 6:54 pm at 6:54 pm #1149695dovrosenbaumParticipant
1) Quinoa from Israel can indeed have bugs, and requires checking.
2) Quinoa sushi is made in some KFP establishments in Queens and other places. There is KFP quinoa, nori sheets, and imitation soy sauce all available for Pesach use.
3) I’m not crazy for sushi year round. I can go months without eating it.May 1, 2016 8:59 am at 8:59 am #1149696oilyhairParticipant
im sefardi and we dont have sushi at our seder. do you have sushi every single shabbos night meal? do you have corn every night for supper? generally speaking, sushi isnt a seder type of food, so just cuz we can eat it, doesnt mean we will…
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.