February 21, 2013 2:22 am at 2:22 am #1022458
ALL DD Baked goods are in fact kosher, as pointed out. There is no way that these come in contact with treifos, as they use separate gloves, etc. when handling treif meats and cheeses and the kosher donuts and whatnot. You can’t get anything toasted, though.February 21, 2013 4:09 am at 4:09 am #1022459Ðash®Participant
I would find it somewhat incredible that DD uses Kosher cheddar throughout their network.February 21, 2013 4:14 am at 4:14 am #1022460ThePurpleOneMember
are u saying that i can walk into a non kosher dunkin donuts and buy a donut? sry but dont think so.. not only does something have to be not treif, it also needs hashgacha u kno!!February 21, 2013 4:42 am at 4:42 am #1022461
The donuts, muffins, croissants, bagels, do come into the store with hashgacha. AFAIK, bagels and donuts don’t have cheese in them.
R’ Abadi says you can eat these 100% without a problem.February 21, 2013 5:19 am at 5:19 am #1022462popa_bar_abbaParticipant
rd: are you saying they don’t make the donuts in the store?February 21, 2013 5:37 am at 5:37 am #1022463☕ DaasYochid ☕Participant
Pba, I’ve heard that some stores bake on their own, and some receive deliveries. The question still remains, though, where the deliveries are from (do the bakeries sending the donuts have hashgocha).February 21, 2013 5:56 am at 5:56 am #1022464Ðash®Participant
AFAIK, bagels and donuts don’t have cheese in them.
There is a Cheddar Cheese Bagel Twist.
are you saying they don’t make the donuts in the store?
In the 1990s they started baking in regional bakeries. Since then no new franchise had the ability to bake onsite. For preexisting franchises, most of them by now get their baked goods from the regional bakery. If you want to find a one that bakes onsite, look for old, big locations in low rent areas.February 21, 2013 5:58 am at 5:58 am #1022465
The donuts come in in a box and are produced under kosher auspices.
The same exact donuts they serve in the treif stores are served in the stores with a hashgacha and there is no price difference between them.February 21, 2013 6:57 pm at 6:57 pm #1022467HealthParticipant
The ones in Balto and in Lakewood that have Hechsheirim they actually do bake in the store.February 21, 2013 8:12 pm at 8:12 pm #1022468yitzchokmParticipant
don’t assume that rebdoniel is right.
MOST DO NOT AGREE WITH RABBI ABADI!
rebdoniel holds of many ideas that you’d find interesting. ask your OWN ruv.February 21, 2013 9:30 pm at 9:30 pm #1022469sw33tMember
I have also heard that doughnuts and bagels from any DD are kosher, because they come from the factory. and that they cannot be heated up or cut.
I personally don’t eat them anyway because who needs the carbs, and as other posters have mentioned, at the end of the day you dont really know where it’s been. I generally believe that if it’s something you can live without (and doughnuts sure are) , why take the risk? also causes a problem of maaras ayin.February 21, 2013 11:05 pm at 11:05 pm #1022470
You are 100% correct about the source of the donuts.
I personally only buy DD donuts or bagels from a hechshered store because in NYC, there is no reason not to.
R’ Abadi has interesting ideas, but he has a makor for them all.February 22, 2013 1:18 am at 1:18 am #1022471yehudayonaParticipant
I’ve never seen a cholov yisrael farm, but I’ve been told that the mashgiach witnesses the milking.
I said that there’s no financial incentive [in the United States] for adulterating cow’s milk with milk of beheimos t’maios. I’ll expand upon that — there’s no financial incentive for adulterating it with any kind of milk. Goat’s milk and sheep’s milk is considerably more expensive than cow’s milk.
I was skeptical of RD’s claim that it’s illegal to sell milk from beheimos t’maios in the US, but then I found a members-only website that advocates for camel’s milk. In order to buy camel’s milk on this website, you have sign a disclaimer that’s full of gobbledygook about how the 1st and 14th amendments give you the right to buy camel’s milk. That leads me to believe that it really is illegal to sell camel’s milk in the US.February 22, 2013 5:21 pm at 5:21 pm #1022472YITZCHOK2Participant
Just spoke with someone very close to Rav Abadi shlita who said that any DD donut with cheese in them may not be eaten.( obviously there are no problems with the others)February 22, 2013 5:29 pm at 5:29 pm #1022473
I said explicitly that you can’t eat their cheese. All I said was that their donuts and baked goods generally came in the stores after being produced under kosher conditions.
A donut with cheese sounds gross.June 3, 2013 4:37 pm at 4:37 pm #1022474kevudaMember
Dunkin’ taking doughnut bacon sandwich national
So how does this affect the kashrus?June 3, 2013 5:13 pm at 5:13 pm #1022475lesschumrasParticipant
The kosher DD’s don’t sell meatJune 3, 2013 6:04 pm at 6:04 pm #1022476apushatayidParticipant
“So how does this affect the kashrus?”
Fakon (as do many other soy based “meat products”) has a reliable hechsher. It is what is sold in the DD that are under a hechsher.June 3, 2013 7:52 pm at 7:52 pm #1022477
Kosher DD stores use Morningstar Farms items, which are OK-D, for fake meats.June 3, 2013 8:22 pm at 8:22 pm #1022478oomisParticipant
I am unaware that DD are baked anywhere and then shipped to all the franchises. I would only buy the donuts in a store under hechsher.
Donuts with cheese??? I don’t think they make something like that – I have never seen a cheesecake donut there. In the DD near me, I have never even seen the Morningstar Farms stuff, unless they have added that very recently.June 3, 2013 9:55 pm at 9:55 pm #1022479
Kosher DD in NY makes veggie sausage sandwiches, veggie bacon, etc.July 3, 2014 6:20 pm at 6:20 pm #1022480A Woman Outside BrooklynParticipant
We can now add to the list of kosher DD under supervision, the DD located in Queens at the intersection of Main St. and Union Turnpike. It is under the Vaad of Queens (which is universally accepted). By arrangement with the Vaad, a mashgiach stops in on Shabbos. As is true of other locations, the donuts and other dairy baked items are not Cholev Yisrael. Milk used in the store is. They do make sandwiches with “bacon” and “sausage”, which are soy products. This sure is a welcome addition to the Queens community, and it happens to be a nice looking store as well.July 4, 2014 4:21 am at 4:21 am #1022481TheGoqParticipant
I hear DD came out with their version of the Cronut.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.