Gluten-free bread and brocha

Home Forums Bais Medrash Gluten-free bread and brocha

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #604473

    Morah Rivkah
    Member

    Gluten-free(GF) bread does not contain wheat. It usually does not contain oats, spelt, rye or barley either. GF bread can be made from flours of the following: potato, corn, tapioca, millet, garbanzo bean, rice (white or brown), hemp, arrowroot, and buckwheat. Most of these are mezonos. How is one on a gluten-free diet able to say either hamotzi or amen to hamotzi? I would appreciate all responses.

    #1010114

    chavrusa
    Member

    Only gluten-free oat would enable a hamotzi bracha. (There is a minority opinion that oat is not one of the 5 grains requiring hamotzi.)If O/j or a/j is added, that would be a mezonos. Rice is mezonos. Many you mention are haadomo, some shehakol. Not sure why you feel most of your list is mezonos.

    #1010115

    lesschumras
    Participant

    Gluten free challah and matzos are made from oats

    #1010116

    Morah Rivkah
    Member

    lesschumras,

    I agree with you on the GF matzos. However, I am finding that most kosher GF challah is made from rice. Unless I make it myself, which is not possible at this time, the bakeries and companies with acceptable kosher certification that I have found online have only rice challah. If you are aware of some that offer oat challah, please post the URLs.

    #1010117

    Sam2
    Participant

    I forget the name. There was something called Heaven’s Bakery or Heavenly Bakery that makes oat Challah. But a fair number of Poskim do hold that oats aren’t Hamotzi as the cause of being Hamotzi is the fact that they have gluten.

    #1010118

    oomis
    Participant

    KATZ is a company that makes certified GF rolls and challahs. I believe they are made from oats and ARE hamotzi. Some GI docs believe oats are NOT GF, and some oats actually are not because of their proximity to the wheat fields and fear of cross contamination with wheat.

    #1010119

    twisted
    Participant

    IF you accept oats as one of the hameshet haminim, and you are kovea seudah, and you are eating a k’beitzah, they you may wash and recite hamotzi, as you would with any other mezonos. If it is taking the place of challa at the shabbos meal, requirements #s 2 and #3 are met. Rice, because it is definitely not of the 5 types, would not require washing hamotzi, despite the fact that SOME Jews treat it with the mezonos bracho.

    #1010120

    twisted
    Participant

    Sam2, I took a sound beating for that stance (hametz dependent on gluten) in my oat matzo rant. Who are the major shittos you reference?

    #1010121

    popa_bar_abba
    Participant

    I’m making bread today with spent grain from beer making (the grain left after the sparge). I’ll let y’all know how it turns out.

    #1010122

    Sam2
    Participant

    Twisted: R’ Schachter and he has a whole list of those who agreed with him (I don’t quite recall who, but I think he always started by quoting R’ Shlomo Zalman, but I could be mistaken). It’s the one Shittah of his that’s bothered me for years. I think it’s against a B’feirush Yerushalmi.

    #1010123

    TheGoq
    Participant

    Hey popa the feds want to make it harder for brewers to sell their spent grain for feed for livestock.

    #1010124

    apushatayid
    Participant

    “(hametz dependent on gluten)”

    So, Oats can not become chametz as long as it is certified Gluten Free(they do not contain the protein Gluten)?

    “There was something called Heaven’s Bakery or Heavenly Bakery that makes oat Challah.”

    There still is such a bakery. It is called Heaven Mills.

    #1010125

    akuperma
    Participant

    Quinoa bread would be a she ha-kol (whether during the year or on Pesach).

    #1010126

    oomis
    Participant

    A member of my family has celiac, and she can only have CERTAIN oat challahs or matzos, in order to make hamotzi. Some oat products are NOT gluten-free. It needs to be certified as such.

    #1010127

    apushatayid
    Participant

    Certainly. Oats must be certified GF if they will consumed by someone with Celiac. My question to twisted and Sam is simply, if it is true that gluten = chametz, than certified GF Oats would never be chametz since the gluten protein is naturally absent in Oats. It is only because Oats are grown in close proximity to other grains such as wheat that contain Gluten that the certification is necessary. In fact the FDA last summer standardized labeling in the US for manufacturers claims of GF.

    From FDA website:

    What does gluten cross-contact mean in the context of the final rule?

    #1010128

    shtarkyid
    Member

    True, Rav Schachter doesn’t believe that oats is one of the five grains but the MAJORITY of gedolai poskim do hold it is… I think its told of Rav Moshe that he said that even if they were to bring a million raayas that oats is not one of the 5 grains, it still is because that has been our mesorah.

    I’ve heard stories with Rav Shlomo Zalman that he took upon himself the chumra of being choshesh its not mezonos but then Rav Elyashiv told him not to and then he stopped. When asked he told others to just do like the our mesorah and don’t be choshesh.

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.