"KD" on cereal boxes in the late 80s?

Home Forums Kashruth "KD" on cereal boxes in the late 80s?

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Posts
  • #618752

    I saw it on the Nintendo Cereal System box (yes, that’s a thing

    that happened) and wondered if anyone here had eaten it.

    #1196436


    Participant

    It was made by Ralston Cereals. I don’t know who was behind their “KD”. They made a number of interesting themed cereals but many of them had marshmallows and don’t have the “K”.

    #1196437

    Lightbrite
    Participant

    I don’t eat electronics

    #1196438

    Joseph
    Participant

    The K symbol (and KD symbol) means the food producer claims the product is kosher. But this symbol can be used by anyone and no (kashrus or other) organization owns, controls or has a trademark or copyright to it. It can be used by anyone and there are no kashrus standards associated with the K and KD symbols.

    #1196439

    yehudayona
    Participant

    Joseph, I think most CR readers know that, but some K’s have legitimate kashrus organizations behind them. For instance, Kellogg’s cereals has the Vaad of Massachusetts (weird, because Kellogg’s is based in Michigan). I seem to remember some Kraft products had a K that was the OK. Other K’s, like the one on Jello gelatin, are not backed by mainstream hashgachas.

    As for the original question, I believe that today many Ralston products are under the OV, which is a St. Louis hashgacha. If you see a store-brand cereal with the OV, it probably was made by Ralston.

    #1196440


    Participant

    There have been a number of splits and mergers since then. Ralston’s cold cereal trademarks (most notably Chex and Cookie Crisp) were sold to General Mills when they exited the retail market. Today Ralston’s cold cereal lineup is pretty much limited to foodservice and private labels.

    #1196441

    Lightbrite
    Participant

    So a box of bacon bits can legitimately sport a K?

    #1196442

    yehudayona
    Participant

    I don’t think (real) bacon bits come in boxes because they’re too greasy. But since K is merely a letter of the alphabet, anyone can use it. In practice, it usually means that someone claims it’s kosher, whether a rabbi, a pseudo-rabbi, or the manufacturer. It’s unlikely anyone would claim that bacon is kosher.

    Remember a few years ago when labels on treif meat in some random supermarket in a non-Jewish neighborhood had some Hebrew or Yiddish words on them? Apparently the store had purchased some used labeling equipment.

    #1196443

    Neville ChaimBerlin
    Participant

    A lot of mainstream cereals have just a K or KD on them. I was told it’s because they don’t want to display the same symbol on their boxes as on their competitors boxes so they use a “general” symbol. Also, to the OP, if you have an unopened Nintindo Cereal box from the 80’s, it could be worth a lot. Cereal box collecting is actually a thing. I happen to find it fascinating while I don’t actually do it myself.

    #1196444

    I don’t (have a box of NCS).

    #1196445

    Lightbrite
    Participant

    Does Judaism allow collecting? Like if one was to have a cereal box or troll doll collection?

    #1196446

    yehudayona
    Participant

    Neville, that explanation doesn’t hold water. I think it’s only Kellogg’s that uses the K. If they wanted to, they could use the symbol of the hashgacha they’re under, namely the KVH, which none of their competitors use (Post is OK, General Mills is OU).

    #1196447

    Lightbrite
    Participant

    Why would they do that then? To simplify it to the masses?

    #1196448

    iacisrmma
    Participant

    yehudayona: Post is starting to switch to the OU.

    #1196449

    Neville ChaimBerlin
    Participant

    Yeah, I’m realizing that too, Yehuda. It was probably incorrect, what I was told.

    I don’t see any reason collecting would be assur, unless you’re just the type who looks for reasons to issur everything. Which, if you were, you probably wouldn’t be posting on an online forum.

    #1196450

    iacisrmma
    Participant

    Years ago it was said that Kellogg’s made a marketing decision that a “K” was enough to indicate that the product was kosher. They received less questions from non-kosher consumers.

    #1196451

    Lilmod Ulelamaid
    Participant

    LB – you can’t trade on Shabbos though. I’ve had experience dealing with some very disappointed kids when they heard that. Hopefully, you are old enough to be able to deal with the fact that you can only trade cereal boxes 6 days a week. You strike me as the mature type.

    #1424050

    It’sa me, part of a complete breakfast! Nintendo says their new Super Mario Cereal (created in partnership with Kellogg’s) will start shipping in the US today, December 11. (I don’t know if it will be kosher – marshmallows are involved.) A news article I read called the cereal “disappointing.”

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.


Trending