Macallan select oak single malt scotch
- This topic has 9 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated 5 years, 3 months ago by feivel.
January 28, 2018 9:44 pm at 9:44 pm #1458099Eliezer8687Participant
Is this kosher or not? Please adviseJanuary 29, 2018 6:42 am at 6:42 am #1458226iacisrmmaParticipant
The Star-K and CRC both state “not recommended”.
.January 29, 2018 7:04 am at 7:04 am #1458241akupermaParticipant
Since we now have a well developed system of hecksherim, why would any frum Yid even consider relying on the “good old days” system of relying on checking ingredients.January 29, 2018 7:04 am at 7:04 am #1458242ToiParticipant
Why not?January 29, 2018 8:54 am at 8:54 am #1458268mentsch1Participant
There is a large (120 page) article available on the cRc website about sherry casks and kashrus.
Bottom line, scotch has issues, switch to bourbon (better yet , use bottles that have hechsherim)
At the time when I read the article and became more machmir, I contacted the distillers to ask if they use sherry casks, some replied yes, even though sherry casks where not mentioned on the bottle.
At lakewood chassanas only bottles with hechsherim are allowed.
More and more brands are adopting hechsherim. If you are asking that means you care. Isn’t it better to be safe?January 29, 2018 8:54 am at 8:54 am #1458270chefaharonParticipant
Are all Whiskies Kosher?
Thursday 28th December 2017
Ordinary Scotch Whisky whether Single Malt or Blended without any mention of the use of sherry, port or other wine casks on the label or marketing literature, can be consumed confidently without any Halachic concerns relating to potential contact with ex-wine casks. No additives to Scotch Whisky are permitted, with the exception of Caramel Colour which is kosher.
As far as Irish Whiskey is concerned, as a direct result of the work of the KLBD with the distillers, Irish legislation has been changed and it is no longer permitted to add flavour enhancers (including those which are wine based) to Irish whiskey. This applies to all whiskey bottled in Ireland since mid 2009.
Whiskey which has been matured in wine casks has been subject to detailed Halachic consideration by major poskim (including Minchas Yitzchok Vol 2, 28 and Igros Moshe Yore Deah Vol 1, 62 and 63) who did not forbid its consumption. There is a new process however, known as Wine Cask Finishes (also referred to as double or second maturation) which is a secondary process in which fully aged and mature whisky is returned to specially commissioned and primed wine casks for a further period of maturation, a process some claim imparts a recognisable taste of the wine. This new process may not be covered by all the aforementioned heterim and accordingly some may wish to avoid products so labelled.January 29, 2018 8:54 am at 8:54 am #1458271chefaharonParticipant
from london beis dinJanuary 29, 2018 7:08 pm at 7:08 pm #1459039ToiParticipant
I know R Shlomo Miller Shlita holds that sherry casks are 100% muttar.January 31, 2018 2:52 pm at 2:52 pm #1460785keithParticipant
Actually you have to be careful about bourbon. Many (most?) bourbon distilleries are owned by Jews and my understanding is most do not sell for Pesach. So a lot of bourbon is actually treif as it is owned by Jews over Pesach.February 1, 2018 11:50 am at 11:50 am #1461124feivelParticipant
both laws and manufacturing processes have changed significantly over the past few years. The issue is very complex and still in flux. many older psakim may not be relied upon anymore.
if you wish to be careful in this matter you would be best advised to contact the cRc. or at least check their website.
also, although all bourbons used to be free of sherry cask concerns that is no longer necessarily the case.
or you can of course rely on HaRav Miller.
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.