Home › Forums › Decaffeinated Coffee › Rummikub!
- This topic has 12 replies, 8 voices, and was last updated 6 years, 11 months ago by YW fan.
May 31, 2016 11:16 pm at 11:16 pm #617785
For all you Rummikub lovers like me, there seems to be a disagreement in the rules. Lets say for example you have a sequence of 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and the 4 is a joker. If you want to use that joker do you HAVE to replace it with a 4 or can you just make it into 2 separate sequences, one being 1, 2, 3 and the other being 4, 5, 6?May 31, 2016 11:56 pm at 11:56 pm #1154928ubiquitinParticipant
You absolutely dont have to replace it (why would you?)
however you cant put the joker in your rackJune 1, 2016 12:08 am at 12:08 am #1154929CTLAWYERParticipant
You must replace the joker with a 4. After that you can separate the run as you please:
take the 7 and add other tiles for a third meldJune 1, 2016 12:26 am at 12:26 am #1154930bb8Participant
A combination which contains a joker can have further tiles added to it, but nothing can be taken from it, nor can it be rearranged in any way while there is a joker in it. For example if a run has a joker at one end the joker cannot be moved to the other end in order to add a tile. However, a player who has in hand the tile which is represented by a joker on the table, the player can substitute the real tile for the joker and then re-use the joker in some combination on the table. A joker released in this way cannot be taken into the player’s hand for later use. In the case of group consisting of two equal tiles and a joker, the joker can be replaced by a matching tile of either of the missing colors.June 1, 2016 2:10 am at 2:10 am #1154931Sam2Participant
We play that you can reorganize however you want, but to change what the Joker is you need to have the identical piece to what the Joker is currently representing. (e.g. If it’s a green 4 you can do whatever you want with it as long as it stays a green 4. If you want to change it to something else you must replace it with a green 4 from your own rack.)June 1, 2016 2:55 am at 2:55 am #1154932
Ubiquitin, I don’t know. If what your saying is true you can ask the same question when the joker is at one end of a run A.K.A the case that bb8 brought down. If the run would still work even without the joker why can’t you just take it??June 1, 2016 3:31 am at 3:31 am #1154933ubiquitinParticipant
“If the run would still work even without the joker why can’t you just take it??”
however it seems there are a different ways to play (note how there are 4 different responses above)
The rules my set have have it my way but online there are a variety of rules most of which say it has to be replaced.
It seems in tournament games (presumably this is the most “official” way when part of a run it cant be replaced and when part of a group it must be replaced by the two mising colors (note how this is a 5th set of rules)
(Eg if group is red 8 black 8 and joker for the joker to be removed it must be replaced by yelow AND blue 8’s)June 2, 2016 2:20 am at 2:20 am #1154934Yserbius123Participant
Depends on house rules. But the way I’ve always played it is that as long as everything on the board is legal (i.e. no pieces without a place) you can re-arrange whatever you want.June 2, 2016 4:27 am at 4:27 am #1154935I. M. ShluffinParticipant
While we’re at it, I’d like to take a poll of how people pronounce “rummikub,” because it’s not so pashut.
Well?June 2, 2016 6:20 am at 6:20 am #1154936Sam2Participant
We say rummy-cubeJune 2, 2016 1:43 pm at 1:43 pm #1154937MenoParticipant
Are the rules different for the joker than for any other tile?
(other than the fact that it can be used as any tile)
I always assumed notJune 2, 2016 11:52 pm at 11:52 pm #1154938
I.M. Shluffin, I was gonna get to that 🙂 I say rummikub cub as in a baby bearJune 9, 2016 5:22 pm at 5:22 pm #1154939
- You must be logged in to reply to this topic.