Is three line k kosher a reliable kosher symbol?
No, it is not. They allow carmine in their products. It is a dye that is extracted from insects.
Who certifies food products that simply have the letter “K”?
ujm, you should ask manufacturer of the product
There’s a machlokes if bug extract used for coloring can be eaten. Most Rabbonim are machmir and say no. So it’s not definitely problematic, just meikel on something a little less common.
The best hashgacha there is, is hashgacha pratis under the hechsher י k ו k
Just coincidence but I have seen this Hashgacha
symbolOn prepackaged salads and fruit from California and the southwest. Presumably, they are not machmir onSmall insects. 🕷🕷
If you’re talking about the agency that certifies the danishes in Brooklyn 7/11’s, then it’s not even orthodox. “Ethical kosher” with 3 bar lines next to a K is run by a man named benzaquen who has a conservative temple in NY.
this is Jacob Benzaquen, there are other Sephardi Benzaquens that seem to be running kosher kosher symbols – KoLA, and others. As we learned from Noah’s, not all the family is the same.
the three line K symbol is a fanciful K. the K itself is composed of three lines.
the rabbinical administrator is Rabbi I. Israel Kelemer