FOR THE FIRST TIME: 13 Countries Vote Against Anti-Israel Resolutions In The UN


During the 74th General Assembly, some 20 Anti-Israel United Nations Resolutions will be voted upon. Among them, five of those resolutions passed on Tuesday. However, even though those resolutions passed, 13 countries voted against them for the first time, changing their vote from their usual abstention vote.

According to the nongovernmental organization UN Watch, during the General Assembly meetings, another six resolutions will be considered, each one against a different country’s human rights transgressions. These countries include, Iran, Syria, North Korea, Crimea, Myanmar and the United States (for its embargo on Cuba).

For the first time, Germany, the Czech Republic, Austria, Bulgaria, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Lithuania, Netherlands, Romania, Slovakia, Brazil and Colombia voted against the annual resolution supporting the Division for Palestinian Rights of the Secretariat, which oversees the Committee on the Exercise of the Inalienable Rights of the Palestinian People. Those countries had abstained with regard to this vote in previous years.

The resolution passed by a vote of 87 for and 23 against, with 54 abstentions. The other four resolutions passed by larger margins as this was the only vote for which these 13 countries voted against. In the other four votes, most voted to support the anti-Israel vote, while a few abstained. Only Canada, the U.S., Australia, Nuaru, Micronesia, The Marshall Islands, Guatemala, and Israel consistently voted against all of the resolutions.

The other resolutions demanded that Israel withdraw from the Golan Heights and provide information on the “question of Palestine.” The votes on the five resolutions were taken in conjunction with the annual observance of the International Day of Solidarity with the Palestinian People at the U.N. on Nov. 27.

(YWN Israel Desk – Jerusalem)