Who Are The Members Of The New Government’s Security Cabinet?

Lapid and Bennett at their first working meeting.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Bennett-Lapid government approved the members of the high-level security cabinet on Wednesday in a telephone vote.

The political-security cabinet has the responsibility of approving military operations.

The members of the prestigious cabinet are Prime Minister Naftali Bennett (Yamina), Foreign Minister Yair Lapid (Yesh Atid), Defense Minister Benny Gantz (Blue & White), Justice Minister Gideon Sa’ar (New Hope), Finance Minister Avigdor Leiberman (Yisrael Beiteinu), Transportation Minister Merav Michaeli (Labor), Interior Minister Ayelet Shaked (Yamina), Housing Minister Ze’ev Elkin (New Hope), Public Security Minister Omer Bar-Lev (Labor), Health Minister Nitzan Horowitz (Meretz), Religious Affairs Minister Matan Kahana (Yamina), and Education Minister Yifat Shasha-Biton (New Hope).

Bennett held his first working meeting with IDF Chief of Staff Aviv Kochavi on Wednesday.

(YWN Israel Desk – Jerusalem)


  1. This is a pretty good lineup. On security matters Lieberman is a right-winger, so there’s a solid right-wing majority. And Lapid is as likely to vote right-wing as left; he doesn’t have any principles. I’m not sure about Bar-Lev. The only solid left-wingers are Michaeli, Horowitz, and Gantz.