Even non-Jews are thirsty for the limited batch of Kosher for Pesach Coca-Cola because of a very special ingredient – it’s made with pure sugar instead of high-fructose corn syrup.
Coca-Cola used sugar as a sweetener before it switched to high-fructose corn syrup in the 1980s.
Harriet Tolve, spokeswoman for the Coca-Cola Bottling Co. of New York, said that for “at least 20 years,” it has been making the kosher-for-Passover beverages “in addition to our regularly produced product.”
Locally, Coca-Cola’s Passover products, which are certified by the OU, have a distinctive yellow cap on the 2-liter bottles marked with OU next to a P and the words “kosher for Passover” in Hebrew. Cans are embossed to show they are kosher for Passover.
(Story & picture: NY Post)