Close this search box.

Kalfa Tried to Come Back but Bennett Refused

kaflaMK Zevulun Kalfa resigned from the party earlier in the week in protest over Naftali Bennett appointing retired soccer player Eli Ochana to the Bayit Yehudi’s 11th slot. Kalfa was in the 18th slot.

After Ochana bowed out of the race under mounting public pressure from inside and out of the party, Kalfa asked to return. Bennett demanded a firm apology for the harsh criticism leveled against him by Kalfa over the appointment. Kalfa’s sharp words were not his alone, but echoed by other party members and outsiders. Nevertheless, Kalfa refused to apologize and Bennett refused to back down as he does not appear on the Bayit Yehudi list for the 20th Knesset.

The final Bayit Yehudi list:

1. Naftali Bennett

2. Uri Ariel

3. Ayelet Shaked

4. Eli Ben-Dahan

5. Nissan Slomiansky

6. Uri Orbach

7. Yinon Magal

8. Shuli Muallem

9. Betzalel Smotrich

10. Moti Yogev

11. Avi Wortzman

12. Nir Orbach

13. Avichai Ronsky

14. Orit Struk

15. Anat Roth

16. Ronen Shoval

17. Avichai Boaron

18. Nachi Eyal

19. Moshe Solomon

20. Yehudit Shilat

(YWN – Israel Desk, Jerusalem)

One Response

  1. How ironic-
    Bennet’s whole platform is to ‘Stop apologizing’ yet he demands one from a Kalfa for acting on his principles!

Leave a Reply

Popular Posts