Degel & Agudah Request Breaking Apart The Party


Knesset officials on Tuesday morning, July 10, 2019, confirm receiving a request from the Yahadut Hatorah party to divide back Degel Hatorah and Agudas Yisrael into two separate parties. Following discussions, it was decided to approve the request from MK Yaakov Asher, to split the party.

According to an Agudas Yisrael decision, the party members will be Yaakov Litzman, Meir Porush and Yaakov Tessler. Degel’s members will be Moshe Gafne, Uri Maklev and Yaakov Asher.

Asher explains that the split is only a technicality, a decision by Yahadut Hatorah to bring them additional power in the Central Election Committee, and it is in no way reflects a true split of the parties ahead of the election for 21st Knesset, which is set for Tuesday, September 17, 2019.

(YWN Israel Desk – Jerusalem)


  1. Umm – Yahadut HaTorah has eight seats, but the list of members of the two parties only gives six names. What about the other two?

    an Israeli Yid