The following Kashrus alert regarding Starbucks is via the Star-K:
Please be advised that Starbucks Corporation has decided to end the expanded Star-K Kosher information program.
Consumers are advised that effective immediately, the Star-K can no longer vouch for the Kashrus of items previously listed that do not bear a reliable Kosher symbol – this includes frappuccinos and all flavored drinks.
Unflavored coffee recommendation remain the same as before.
In addition, the Kosher-friendly store program is no longer under our auspices.
A list of approved beverages (SEE BELOW) has been updated to reflect these changes.
Consumers who would like to see this program reinstated should contact Starbucks directly.
Customers must confirm Kashrus of additives to coffee by themselves by checking for reliable Kosher symbols.
At full service Starbucks stores that serve treif meat, one should avoid buying drinks prepared with equipment that may have been washed with treif equipment. There are drinks (see listed below) that are prepared without any contact with questionable equipment and are acceptable at any store. We cannot recommend any other products in these stores (see items on the list below flagged with an X) unless they are packaged with a reliable certification.
All drinks listed below are permissible under one of the following conditions:
The store does not serve meat or cheese items; OR
When one is traveling*. According to Star-K policy, traveling creates a sha’as hadchak (i.e., no other viable option is readily available) during which one need not be concerned with the restrictions on the beverages listed below. Traveling means when you are away from your hometown. You do not need to be driving on the highway to fit into the category of traveling.
Please note: Starbucks stores serve cholov stam.
*Traveling means when you are away from your hometown (this creates a situation of sha’as hadchak – i.e., no other viable option is readily available). You don’t need to be driving on the highway to fit into the category of traveling.
NOTE: Whipped Cream can be added upon request. Whipped cream found in most Starbucks stores carries a reliable Kosher certification. Before adding it to the product, consumers must first verify its kosher status by checking the original whipped cream container for a reliable kosher symbol.