By Rabbi Sholem Fishbane
Kashrus Administrator of the Chicago Rabbinical Council
Some boxes of Manischewitz Cheese Blintzes mistakenly display the word “pareve”. This product is certified by the OU and is dairy.
OK Kosher Certification would like to announce in cooperation with Athens Foods, a temporary change in certification. Athens 1 oz SPANAKIPITA 48 count club store pack produced by Athens Foods, Inc., Cleveland, OH is TEMPORARILY not certified as OK dairy. Please check the package for kosher certification.
Please be advised that Wis-Con Ready-to-Serve Pudding bears an unauthorized OK symbol on the label. This product is not certified by OK Kosher Certification.
Please note that the all varieties of Lactase Caplets made for Kirkland and Rite Aid chains are no longer certified kosher by the Orthodox Union.
Some cans of Planters Caramel Maple Sweet Roast Pecans display an OU, without the D. This product is certified by the Orthodox Union as Dairy and should be labeled OU D.
Incredibly Great Fudge Marshmallow Cookies are not certified by the Orthodox Union and bear an unauthorized OU. (They are mostly sold in Waldo’s stores in Mexico).
KC Masterpiece, Buffalo Marinade bears an unauthorized OU symbol. It is not certified by the Orthodox Union and contains dairy.
Please be advised that VIKING BRAND HERRING TIDBITS in Matjes Sauce bears an unauthorized OK symbol on the label. This product is not certified by OK Kosher.
Please be advised that the following batches of Nutty Naturals Jordan Almonds bearing the OK pareve symbol mistakenly contain some dairy ingredients.
RAINBOW DUST EDIBLE STARS and EDIBLE HEARTS, produced by Rainbow Dust Colours in England, bear an unauthorized Star-K symbol. These products are not certified by Star-K.
Please be advised that as of August 15, 2011 Love Bakery located in Encino will no longer be certified by the RCC (Rabbinical Council of California).
Some Laura Lynn Honey Graham Crackers are labeled with an OU Pareve, instead of OU Dairy. This product is certified by the OU and is dairy.
Totem Smokehouse Smoked Salmon, Totem Smokehouse, Seattle WA bears an unauthorized OU. This product is not certified by the OU.
The following Kellogg’s Cereals will be changing their status from Pareve to Dairy and will be marked as such with the KD symbol; All Bran Buds, Cinnabon Crunchy Cinnamon , and Eggo Cereal.
Some jars of Silver Spring Cream Style Horseradish, mistakenly bear an OU, without the D. This certified product contains dairy and should be labeled OU-D.
Some Chewits Candies packaging have a logo that looks like an OU symbol. Chewits are not certified by the Orthodox Union. This product is mostly sold in the UK.
Healthy Sweet Drinks, Healthy Sweet Beverages products bear an unauthorized OU and are not certified by the OU (and may also be dairy).
Veronica Bianca Wafers bearing an OU symbol are being found for sale in Israel. The OU re-confirms that the product is still unauthorized
Some individually wrapped S’mores Granola Bars, from Quaker Oats Co. mistakenly bear an unauthorized OU-D. This product is not kosher. The item in question can be found in both cartons of S’mores and Variety Pack cartons. The other varieties of Granola Bars are correctly labeled OU-D.
A small quantity of OU certified Planters Brittle Nut Medley was labeled without the “D”. Brittle Nut Medley contains yogurt covered raisins that are OU Dairy.
Thomas Kemper Purely Natural Vanilla Cream Handcrafted Soda contains dairy ingredients as listed on the ingredient panel but the OU dairy designation has been inadvertently omitted. Please note that the amount of dairy is botul (nullified).
Consumers should be advised that the following brands of COR certified potato chips will have their status changed from “pareve” to “Dairy Equipment (DE)”:Lay’s BBQ, Lay’s BBQ Ribs, Lay’s Fries and Gravy, Lay’s Honey Mustard, Lay’s Old Fashioned BBQ, Ruffles All Dressed, Ruffles BBQ, Wavy Lay’s Old Fashioned BBQ It should be noted that the pareve status of other COR certified potato chips remains unchanged.
West Coast Select Maple Nuggets Smoked Sockeye bears an unauthorized OU symbol. This product is not certified by the Orthodox Union.
Contrary to statements made on their website and in their stores, the Chicago Rabbinical Council does not certify any Red Mango products or locations.
Several breads from Today’s Temptations (Chicago, IL) are not kosher certified.
Only those Today’s Temptations products bearing the cRc on the label are certified kosher and are pareve and pas yisroel.
Trader Joes Pita Chips with Sea Salt are kosher under Wisconsin Kosher but were mislabeled Pas Yisrael.
Hershey’s Strawberry Syrup, when manufactured and distributed in America, bears an OU-D symbol. The same product, when produced for export to Israel, has no OU symbol on the label. Mor Yam, an Israeli importer of Hershey’s Strawberry Syrup, placed a sticker on top of the label, with an unauthorized OU symbol. At the current time, the Orthodox Union considers this product to be kosher and dairy, when the label indicates “Made in USA”.
Some stores are selling 3 jars of Newman’s Own pasta sauces wrapped together in a clear plastic. Please note that these wrapped jars may contain both kosher and non kosher varieties of Newman’s Own pasta sauces. The OU symbol only appears on the kosher varieties. Please check the jars before buying them.
Please note that Pedialyte is certified as OU-D, because equipment had been used for processing of dairy without a proper kashering but does not contain any dairy ingredients.
Please be advised that effective immediately, Subway Restaurant located at 141-24 Jewel Ave. Kew Garden Hills, NY is no longer kosher under the Vaad of Queens.
A limited number of specially marked boxes of All Post Grape Nut Cereal contain a promotional Grape Nut Cookie. This product is not certified by OK Kosher Certification; it is certified kosher and dairy by Kof-K as the packaging indicates.
Several BJ’s Wholesale Club stores sell freshly baked bagels. The OU does not certify any of the BJ’s bakeries. Some bags for these bagels display an unauthorized OU.
All Miss Leone’s products including mozzarella cheese stuffed olives have an unauthorized OU and contain non kosher ingredients.
A frozen yogurt store called 32 Degree Froyo in Great Neck, NY is displaying an OU symbol on some of its signs and cups. This store is not certified by the Orthodox Union, and the Orthodox Union cannot comment on the kosher status of products sold in this store.
Effective immediately, G & S Bakery, located at 63-79 Saunders St. Rego Park, NY 11374, is no longer certified under the Vaad Harabonim of Queens.
Please be advised that a limited number of specially market boxes of Post Shredded Wheat contain a promotional dried fruit blend. This product is not certified by OK Kosher Certification; it is certified by Tringle-K as the packaging indicates.
Beanitos Pinto Bean & Flax With Cheddar Cheese Chips are Kof-K Dairy but was incorrectly labeled as Kof-K Parve. Corrective measures are being taken.
Please be advised that all products produced by Butterfly Bakery, Clifton, NJ are certified kosher and dairy by the Vaad Harabonim of New England. The dairy designation was inadvertently omitted from the kosher symbol on some of the products.
The Orthodox Union no longer certifies all varieties of sauces from Lee Kum Kee (China) as of June 24, 2011.
Tabatchnick Soup Singles New York Style Chicken Broth With Noodles And Vegetables was inadvertently labeled as Chof-K pareve. The product is in fact certified as Chof-K Meat
American Nut products were previously labeled OU-D. In view of recent changes, American Nut products will now be labeled OU. Products with the “D” should still be considered dairy. The pareve products have a lot number of 061311 or greater.
Please be advised that All Natural Products, LLC DBA The Bakery of New York, is no longer certified as OK Pas Yisroel but remain certified kosher and pareve.
Packaged cakes and desserts made by RUSSIAN DESSERTS INC., Ozone Park, NY, bear an unauthorized Star-K. These products are NOT certified by the Star-K.
Domata Living Gluten Free Wheat Free Pizza Crust Mix, Blend Pak, Bloomfield, KY is labeled with a plain OU but is actually Dairy. Corrective action is being taken.
The MK (Montreal Kosher) wishes to inform the public that the kosher kitchen at Hampton Inn & Suites located at 1010 Chemin Herron Road in Dorval no longer bears MK kosher certification.
Suntree Chocolate Nut Mix and Suntree Trail Mix products contain dairy ingredients as listed on the ingredient panel but the OU dairy designation has been omitted.
Due to formula changes Nature’s Best & Sunbeam breads are no longer HKA (Houston Kashruth Association) certified. Packages with the HKA ink jetted next to the expiration date were baked prior to the formula change
Please be advised that AZAR MOUNTAIN TRAIL MIX distributed by Mount Frankin Foods (El Paso, TX), mistakenly bears the OK pareve symbol. This product is actually dairy and should de labeled OK-D.
Please note that Ouri’s /Fan Caterers of Brooklyn, NY is no longer Star-K certified
Hershey’s Cookies ‘n Chocolate, Hershey Chocolate Company, Israel Importer Appearing on Label: Royalty Tasa and Jack, Holon Israel is sold in Israel with a sticker placed by the importer that contains an unauthorized OU symbol. This product is not certified by the Orthodox Union and the sticker did not originate from the Hershey Chocolate Company.
Effective immediately ANDREW SAPIENZA BAKERY, ELMONT NY is no longer certified by the KOF-K. Items bearing the KOF-K are not authorized. Please note that Sapienza Pastry, Inc., 1376 Hempstead Turnpike is NOT affiliated with the above bakery and remains Kof-K certified.
Pina Colada Slurpee flavor is now certified kosher & DAIRY (cholov stam).
The Red Heifer Steakhouse located at 38 King George Street, Jerusalem, is now under the supervision of Badatz Mehadrin (Rabbi Avraham Rubin). The restaurant is under the same ownership, just a different hechsher.
According to the latest report of the U. S. Department of Agriculture, the harvest of the Chodosh wheat and barley has begun this past week. As we reported earlier, the oats harvest started about 2 weeks earlier. This marks the start of the new Chodosh season. We expect the Chodosh to start to appear in products as follows: Oats products packed or produced as of Jul 26. If purchased after Aug 9 (which has passed) package codes should be checked (see some sample codes listed below). Exceptions are the oats in cereals made by General Mills, as noted below.
Packaged foods that contain spring wheat may contain Chodosh if packed or produced as of Aug 15. If purchased after Sept 1 package codes should be checked. Items containing wheat, wheat germ or wheat starch may be Chodosh after this date unless it is known that the wheat is Yoshon. Examples of foods that are from winter wheat which is Yoshon are matzos and gefilte fish.
Freshly baked bakery or store-produced items including breads, chalahs, rolls, bagels, many cakes and cookies, and pizza may be Chodosh as of the production date of Aug 15 in the mid-West USA and as of Sept 1 if made elsewhere in the USA.
Noodles and pasta may be Chodosh as of the packing date of Aug 22. If purchased after Sept 7, package codes should be checked.
Barley: pearled barley or barley in cereals may be Chodosh as of the packing date of Aug 15. If purchased after Sept 1, package codes should be checked.
Barley malt (also listed in the ingredients as “malt”) may be Chodosh as of the packing date of Dec 15. Package codes should be checked after the purchase date of Jan 15 for beer and March 15 for malt in other products.
Packaged foods produced in Israel under any reliable kashrus hashgocho are Yoshon. If produced elsewhere, check for Yoshon printed on the label.
SAMPLE PACKING CODES: The following are the Chodosh packing codes for a few popular items. For other items, you may check last year’s Guide for the code system (don’t forget to use the revised wheat and barley dates) or call the Hot Line at 718-305-5133.
Quaker oats old fashioned and 1 Minute oats Jan 17 ’13. The code for the instant oats is Jul 21 12. If produced in Canada the dates will be later, to be announced when known.
General Mills Cheerios products that do not contain wheat, wheat germ or wheat starch Aug 21 12. If they contain oats but not any of the wheat products Sept 21 12.
To receive email kashrus alerts, send your name and email address to: [email protected]
Alerts are compiled from Kashrut.com http://www.kashrut.com/Alerts/ , kashrus agencies’ websites; Kashrus magazine; Kosher Information Bureau; Jerusalem Kosher News www.jerusalemkoshernews.com – [email protected], Shatnez Laboratory; and from the Guide to Chodosh (Rabbi Yoseph Herman).
(YWN World Headquarters – NYC)